Exploring the Natural World

I am disappointed, if I’m being perfectly honest, at my current situation and the lack of spontaneity it allows me. I need to do extra planning for almost everything I set out to do. Luckily for me and the millions of other people who use wheelchairs, there has been a huge cultural and architectural transformation throughout the United States in the last quarter century. Unfortunately, it seems that the latter has proven much easier to change than the former but that’s a different story, one in which I am not currently concerned with (partly because I have spent a long time thinking about how to change the stigma and view of individuals with disabilities and partly because I have no idea how to change it). So, with the ADA legislation, there are many, many more places I can go to and activities I can participate in. There is one area of travel that I have not yet figured out how to over come. Of course there are many places I cannot really traverse practically (or at least without significant help) including: mountains with rocky or snowy inclines, beaches, dense jungles, etc. The limits I have to deal with in regards to exploring nature and immersing myself in the beautiful and diverse natural landscapes of Earth is definitely one of my major sources of despair. It’s a shame because there are so many incredible places to be explored and yet they are out of reach for me at the moment. Many places such as the Rocky Mountains, the Appalachian Mountains and the Grand Canyon offer accessible hiking trails and accessible transportation. This is fantastic and I think it is a great time to be disabled because of all the options made available. One problem though, is that the more accessible they make the park, or mountain or whatever, the more the landscape is ruined. The more paved roads and bathrooms and signs and parking lots they build the less natural the scene looks. In addition, I don’t want to just scratch the surface of these places, I don’t want to take the bunny slope down, I want to experience the wilderness deeply and fully, I want to be completely overwhelmed by the majesty of our planet, ideally alone. Perhaps this level of intimacy will have to wait for now.

About ben james

"The stars keep me up at night" -some song I heard one time Human. Studying the intersection of Neuroscience and Computation. Wanna be (astro) physicist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

