Something about religion

Do religious people ever think about what they really believe in? I know most religious people have the common views of some kind of higher power, a messiah who can work miracles, a sacred text with the teachings of said messiah, etc. I want to first begin with some of the more blatant contradictions that religious sympathizers easily bat away. Afterwards I will bring up some lesser thought about issues with theology, slowly squeezing the rabbit hole that the religious us to squirm out of smaller and smaller. First, I think it is pretty obvious that there are more than one religion, although still some people have trouble seeing this, even more have trouble seeing its implications and problems it brings up on a deeper level. If there exists a God that people worship, other than, let’s say the Christian God, then that means, according to the Bible that these people will be sent to Hell to be tortured forever (forever? More on this later). Do Christians really believe that Jews and Buddhists and Hindus and Mormons are all going to be sent to Hell for eternity? Even the righteous ones who lived ethically and helped those in need? Surely they can’t. I left out Muslims on purpose because I had a feeling many Christians would not object to killing Muslims no matter the circumstances. Alright, on to the next issue. Jesus was born around the year 0 and modern civilization has been around at least since the Egyptians, about 5000-6000 BCE. Did every one of these poor souls suffer the same fate as our Jews, Buddhists, Hindus and Mormons? Surely they could not have worshipped the God that jesus claims. They all must have burned alive…for eternity. Or maybe if they believed in their Gods they were spared because God had not sent his son down to be sacrificed yet, but then again why would he not have done this in the beginning of modern civilization? He is supposed to be perfect, no? Either way it seems a bit phony to me. Onto the next issue. This problem is slightly more troublesome for the average believer. When I was a boy my mother told me about religion, God and heaven. She informed me that heaven is a paradise of sorts, a place that all the good people go. She told me that the good people spend eternity in heaven. At first I was confused about what she had said. How can anything last eternally? After thinking about it briefly I recall being very scared. I’m still not exactly sure why I was scared but it was something to do with the infinite. It scared me. It still kind of does. Eternity, infinity, never ending, forever. How could anyone enjoy that? Your gonna live a million years and then a million more. Then a billion, then a hundred billion and a hundred billion more. Youre going to exist for trillions and trillions and trillions of years. Youll be in heaven forever. Forever. Forever and ever and ever. It still scares me.

About ben james

"The stars keep me up at night" -some song I heard one time Human. Studying the intersection of Neuroscience and Computation. Wanna be (astro) physicist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

