Spinal Cord Injury Reflection

It is not an unfathomable task to endure a spinal cord injury. At first glance it may seem to be a miserable existence but I assure you this is not the case at least through my own eyes. An outsider will look down upon the disabled, with an almost condescending pity. But they know not that what they assume to be truth is in fact perpetuated only by the sympathetic view they project outwards. Everyone is different and not all cast such a naïve gaze, but still many do. I have now been acquainted with the injury for seven years and while we are not quite friends I no longer consider us enemies. Funny things tend to happen in life and you can slowly grow comfortable with something you previously deemed unimaginable. This is not to say I’m happy with my situation and I do not know if I ever will be. Learning to live with a condition and being happy with the condition are two different things. Certainly there are others who are much farther down the path of disability and suffering and with them I sympathize.

About ben james

"The stars keep me up at night" -some song I heard one time Human. Studying the intersection of Neuroscience and Computation. Wanna be (astro) physicist.
This entry was posted in health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

